book tags

Book Tag – Would You Rather


This book tag comes courtesy of SiamyBooks and you can view her original post here. This sounded like fun, so I decided to give it a try. ๐Ÿ™‚

WOULD YOU RATHER…


1. Read only book series or stand-alone books?

While I have series I read and re-read because I love them so much, I also enjoy single, self-contained stories. But sometimes it can be hard to let a book go if I feel really emotionally invested in the characters. So for this one, I think I lean more towards reading series.


2. Read a book with a male lead character or a female lead character?
This is a hard choice because I have favorite books with male leads and favorite books with female leads, and I honestly don’t favor one over the other. While I relate to female characters by default, there’s nothing more appealing than a brave leading man (especially if he’s dashing!). So my vote is both! ๐Ÿ™‚


3. Shop only at a physical bookstore or at an online bookstore?

If only I lived closer to a physical bookstore! There’s something special about being able to browse the aisles, pick up books at random, admire their covers, and flip through their pages. Not to mention it’s instant gratification as you can walk in and out with your purchases the same day rather than wait for them to be delivered. Though I do most of my book shopping online, I’d much rather go to an actual bookstore if/when I’m given the chance.


4.
All books become movies or television shows?
I’ve seen some good film adaptations of books I love and some not-so-good. So for this, I’d have to go with television shows. While movies are confined to an entirely self-contained story within a designated running time, a television series is designed to be serialized. When you think about it, the best medium to adapt a book is television. Television series are divided by episodes, much like how books are split into chapters; so in terms of world building, pacing, and character development, I think television shows have a more book-friendly format.


5. Read five pages a day or five books a week?

I’m happy if I can clock in at least a chapter or two a day rather than read a certain number of books a week. I’d rather read a handful of pages every day and savor a book than push to finish a bunch of books in a week.


6. Be a professional book reviewer or an author?
An author, of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve already had articles and chapters published, and I’ve self-published five books. However, I would love to work with an editor and see my books launched on a larger scale. It’s been a dream of mine ever since I was young, so it’s something I’m working towards, inch by inch.


7. Only read the same 20 books over and over or get to read a new books every six months?
There are books I make a point to read every year, but I eventually want new material. After all, you’ll never know if there is a new favorite out there unless you read some new books! So my vote is for both – I do read the same books over again but I like looking for new favorites, too.


8. Be a librarian or own a bookstore?
I think it would be fun to own a bookstore, provided I could tear myself away from the books long enough to get any actual work done! While I love and respect libraries, they’re just not the same as a bookstore. To me, there’s more of a sense of comradery in a bookstore whereas a library is a more hushed environment. Plus, in a bookstore you could serve baked goods and tea – nothing gets better than that! ๐Ÿ™‚


9. Only read your favorite genre or your favorite author?
Definitely my favorite genre, which is speculative fiction, because there is so much to choose from. (Yes, maybe that’s sort of “cheating” by saying speculative fiction because that encompasses the sub-genres of fantasy, science fiction, paranormal, etc. and their related sub-sub genres and the like. But, for me, because the lines in these genres are often blurred and blended, I lump them into all one category.)


10. Only read physical books or e-books?
Physical books, for sure! There is something satisfying about holding an actual book, turning its pages, and enjoying the smell of paper. (Yes, I am one of those weirdos who likes to smell booksย  – and not the scratch-and-sniff kind.) While I read my fair share of e-books, I tend to only read them if they’re priced significantly cheaper than a physical copy or it’s a lengthy book (such as a work of research, a photography book, or a biography) that I want to read but not devote shelf space to. So for the most part, the bulk of my book buying habits rests solidly within the physical copy realm.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this book-related version of Would You Rather, and remember…

Leave a Reply

